GROUNDWORK.
Menu

Who owns this business? · electrical

Powell Electric

Owner or operating group

Champions Group Holdings

Blackstone-managed BXPE funds; Odyssey and management retain minority investment

Sources confirm the link

What the sources say

The sources below support these connections as of the dates shown. Exact ownership percentages are often private.

Owner or investor named in sources
Blackstone-managed BXPE funds; Odyssey and management retain minority investment
How much they own
Platform acquisition documented; sponsor transfer completed. Individual operating-company equity percentage is not disclosed.
Business details checked
2026-10-23
Oldest ownership check
2026-10-22

Founded in 1971. Champions says Powell retains its name following the acquisition. Jason Powell is identified as president and general manager; that title is not proof of an equity interest. The February Blackstone announcement does not by itself establish closing. October 23 correction: HarbourVest’s first-party fund report confirms the sponsor sale completed. The separate operating-brand evidence dates are unchanged.

Business ID: US002. Ownership sources: US-S002 S024 US-S015. Ownership can change after the date checked.

Who owns whom

Ownership connections for Powell ElectricPowell Electric Acquired by Champions Group Holdings, Current connection. Champions Group Holdings Acquired by Blackstone, Current connection. Champions Group Holdings Minority investment from Odyssey Investment Partners, Current connectionAcquired byAcquired byMinority investment fromPowell ElectricBusiness name · US002Champions Group HoldingsGroup of service businesses · N013BlackstoneInvestment firm · N015Odyssey Investment PartnersInvestment firm · N014
Owner or business nameOperating group or investmentFranchise, minority stake, or owner claimUnconfirmed or past
3 links · sources and details
  1. Powell Electric acquired by Champions Group Holdings

    Current connection · acquisition; equity percentage not disclosed · Observed 2026-10-22 US-S002

    Date is the public announcement date, not an independently established legal close date.

  2. Champions Group Holdings acquired by Blackstone

    Current connection · control acquisition through BXPE funds; existing shareholders collectively retain 30% · Observed 2026-10-23 S024 US-S015

    The investor fund report confirms completion in February 2026 without an exact closing day. The control start is month precision; the separate transaction preserves the February 17 announcement date.

  3. Champions Group Holdings minority investment from Odyssey Investment Partners

    Current connection · retained minority; Odyssey’s individual percentage not disclosed · Observed 2026-10-23 S024 US-S015

    The buyer announcement identifies Odyssey and management as retaining minority stakes; the subsequent fund report confirms closing and a collective 30% retained by existing shareholders. Do not allocate the 30% solely to Odyssey.

Past and other connections are listed below.

All 4 connections, including past ones

Champions Group Holdings portfolio company of Odyssey Investment Partners

Past connection · former lead sponsor; minority rollover recorded separately

Lead sponsor role ended in February 2026 according to the investor realization report; exact close day is unknown. Odyssey’s retained minority interest is separate from former control.

From unknown · Until 2026-02 · Checked 2026-10-23 · Link R016 S023 S024 US-S015

Champions Group Holdings acquired by Blackstone

Current connection · control acquisition through BXPE funds; existing shareholders collectively retain 30%

The investor fund report confirms completion in February 2026 without an exact closing day. The control start is month precision; the separate transaction preserves the February 17 announcement date.

From 2026-02 · End date not given · Checked 2026-10-23 · Link R017 S024 US-S015

Powell Electric acquired by Champions Group Holdings

Current connection · acquisition; equity percentage not disclosed

Date is the public announcement date, not an independently established legal close date.

From 2026-08-07 · End date not given · Checked 2026-10-22 · Link US-R002 US-S002

Champions Group Holdings minority investment from Odyssey Investment Partners

Current connection · retained minority; Odyssey’s individual percentage not disclosed

The buyer announcement identifies Odyssey and management as retaining minority stakes; the subsequent fund report confirms closing and a collective 30% retained by existing shareholders. Do not allocate the 30% solely to Odyssey.

From 2026-02 · End date not given · Checked 2026-10-23 · Link US-R013 S024 US-S015

Acquisitions and changes

A deal’s announcement and closing can happen on different dates. A sale of a franchise system can leave the local franchise owner unchanged.

  1. 2026-08-07

    Announced · acquisition · Status at snapshot: Deal closed

    Powell Electric

    Buyer: Champions Group Holdings

    Powell Electric retains its consumer brand within Champions Group.

    Announced
    2026-08-07
    Deal closed
    Closing date not given
    Stake bought
    not disclosed

    Announcement describes the business following the acquisition; separate legal close date not stated. US-S002

  2. 2026-02-17

    Announced · control acquisition · Status at snapshot: Deal closed

    Champions Group Holdings

    Buyer: Blackstone

    Blackstone-managed BXPE funds become controlling sponsor; Odyssey and management retain minority interests.

    Announced
    2026-02-17
    Deal closed
    February 2026 (exact day not given)
    Stake bought
    control; 30% collectively retained by existing shareholders

    Completed in February 2026 according to the March-period investor report. Exact closing day is unknown, so close_date remains blank. The original February 17 announcement date is preserved; retained percentages by individual shareholder are unknown. S024 US-S015

What we don’t know

medium priority · Question US-U003

What was the exact legal close date and how was the collective 30% retained stake divided among existing shareholders?

Completed sponsor transfer documented; February 2026 precision only, with individual retained interests unknown.

What would answer this: Closing documentation or explicit shareholder-level disclosures. · Checked 2026-10-23

Suggest a correction

4 public sources

Open a source for its dates, the connection it supports, and a link to the original.

US-S002Champions Group Expands Southern California Footprint with Acquisition of Powell ElectricChampions Group Holdings · Acquisition announcement

Read the original source

Published
2026-08-07
Checked
2026-10-22
Source quality
Grade A · From a company, buyer, seller, or filing
Publisher group
champions
Source type
transaction announcement

Acquisition of Powell Electric; brand keeping its name; Southern California operations

Reviewed the announcement text on October 22. The announcement says following the acquisition; a separate close date and ownership percentage are not given.

S024Blackstone Announces Agreement to Acquire Champions GroupBlackstone · Acquisition announcement

Read the original source

Published
2026-02-17
Checked
2026-07-26
Source quality
Grade A · From a company, buyer, seller, or filing
Publisher group
blackstone
Source type
pending transaction announcement

Agreement to acquire Champions; expected close in first half of 2026

US-S015HarbourVest Private Investments Fund — March 2026 ReportHarbourVest · Filing or legal document

Read the original source

Published
Date not given
Checked
2026-10-23
Source quality
Grade A · From a company, buyer, seller, or filing
Publisher group
harbourvest
Source type
investor fund report

Completed Champions Group sale from Odyssey to Blackstone BXPE; February 2026 realization; existing shareholders collectively retained 30%.

Report period is March 31, 2026; a distinct publication date is not established. Printed pages 3 and 5 (PDF pages 3 and 5). Exact closing day and allocation of the collective retained stake are not disclosed.

S023Champions Group Acquires Service Wizard of AustinChampions Group Holdings · Acquisition announcement

Read the original source

Published
2022-11-22
Checked
2026-10-26
Source quality
Grade A · From a company, buyer, seller, or filing
Publisher group
champions
Source type
transaction announcement

Service Wizard acquisition

Compare up to 3 businesses

Different names. Same owner?