GROUNDWORK.
Menu

Who owns this business? · HVAC · plumbing · electrical

Lex Cooling, Heating, Plumbing & Electrical

Owner or operating group

Champions Group Holdings

Blackstone-managed BXPE funds; Odyssey and management retain minority investment

Sources confirm the link

What the sources say

The sources below support these connections as of the dates shown. Exact ownership percentages are often private.

Owner or investor named in sources
Blackstone-managed BXPE funds; Odyssey and management retain minority investment
How much they own
Platform acquisition documented; sponsor transfer completed. Individual operating-company equity percentage is not disclosed.
Business details checked
2026-10-23
Oldest ownership check
2026-10-23

Founded in 2004. The release names founders Cory and Anthony Contreras and says the brand continues following acquisition; no retained equity percentages are stated. The company blog is posted January 21, while the embedded release is dated January 15. The transaction uses the embedded announcement date. Current affiliation was checked in the platform directory. October 23 correction: HarbourVest’s first-party fund report confirms the sponsor sale completed. The separate operating-brand evidence dates are unchanged.

Business ID: US005. Ownership sources: US-S005 US-S014 S024 US-S015. Ownership can change after the date checked.

Who owns whom

Ownership connections for Lex Cooling, Heating, Plumbing & ElectricalLex Cooling, Heating, Plumbing & Electrical Acquired by Champions Group Holdings, Current connection. Champions Group Holdings Acquired by Blackstone, Current connection. Champions Group Holdings Minority investment from Odyssey Investment Partners, Current connectionAcquired byAcquired byMinority investment fromLex Cooling, Heating, Plumbing &ElectricalBusiness name · US005Champions Group HoldingsGroup of service businesses · N013BlackstoneInvestment firm · N015Odyssey Investment PartnersInvestment firm · N014
Owner or business nameOperating group or investmentFranchise, minority stake, or owner claimUnconfirmed or past
3 links · sources and details
  1. Lex Cooling, Heating, Plumbing & Electrical acquired by Champions Group Holdings

    Current connection · acquisition; equity percentage not disclosed · Observed 2026-10-23 US-S005 US-S014

    The start date is the date on the press release, not a legal closing date. The company blog is posted January 21, while the embedded release is dated January 15. The transaction uses the embedded announcement date.

  2. Champions Group Holdings acquired by Blackstone

    Current connection · control acquisition through BXPE funds; existing shareholders collectively retain 30% · Observed 2026-10-23 S024 US-S015

    The investor fund report confirms completion in February 2026 without an exact closing day. The control start is month precision; the separate transaction preserves the February 17 announcement date.

  3. Champions Group Holdings minority investment from Odyssey Investment Partners

    Current connection · retained minority; Odyssey’s individual percentage not disclosed · Observed 2026-10-23 S024 US-S015

    The buyer announcement identifies Odyssey and management as retaining minority stakes; the subsequent fund report confirms closing and a collective 30% retained by existing shareholders. Do not allocate the 30% solely to Odyssey.

Past and other connections are listed below.

All 4 connections, including past ones

Champions Group Holdings portfolio company of Odyssey Investment Partners

Past connection · former lead sponsor; minority rollover recorded separately

Lead sponsor role ended in February 2026 according to the investor realization report; exact close day is unknown. Odyssey’s retained minority interest is separate from former control.

From unknown · Until 2026-02 · Checked 2026-10-23 · Link R016 S023 S024 US-S015

Champions Group Holdings acquired by Blackstone

Current connection · control acquisition through BXPE funds; existing shareholders collectively retain 30%

The investor fund report confirms completion in February 2026 without an exact closing day. The control start is month precision; the separate transaction preserves the February 17 announcement date.

From 2026-02 · End date not given · Checked 2026-10-23 · Link R017 S024 US-S015

Lex Cooling, Heating, Plumbing & Electrical acquired by Champions Group Holdings

Current connection · acquisition; equity percentage not disclosed

The start date is the date on the press release, not a legal closing date. The company blog is posted January 21, while the embedded release is dated January 15. The transaction uses the embedded announcement date.

From 2026-01-15 · End date not given · Checked 2026-10-23 · Link US-R005 US-S005 US-S014

Champions Group Holdings minority investment from Odyssey Investment Partners

Current connection · retained minority; Odyssey’s individual percentage not disclosed

The buyer announcement identifies Odyssey and management as retaining minority stakes; the subsequent fund report confirms closing and a collective 30% retained by existing shareholders. Do not allocate the 30% solely to Odyssey.

From 2026-02 · End date not given · Checked 2026-10-23 · Link US-R013 S024 US-S015

Acquisitions and changes

A deal’s announcement and closing can happen on different dates. A sale of a franchise system can leave the local franchise owner unchanged.

  1. 2026-02-17

    Announced · control acquisition · Status at snapshot: Deal closed

    Champions Group Holdings

    Buyer: Blackstone

    Blackstone-managed BXPE funds become controlling sponsor; Odyssey and management retain minority interests.

    Announced
    2026-02-17
    Deal closed
    February 2026 (exact day not given)
    Stake bought
    control; 30% collectively retained by existing shareholders

    Completed in February 2026 according to the March-period investor report. Exact closing day is unknown, so close_date remains blank. The original February 17 announcement date is preserved; retained percentages by individual shareholder are unknown. S024 US-S015

  2. 2026-01-15

    Announced · acquisition · Status at snapshot: Deal closed

    Lex Cooling, Heating, Plumbing & Electrical

    Buyer: Champions Group Holdings

    The acquired brand is currently listed in Champions Group Holdings’s corporate directory.

    Announced
    2026-01-15
    Deal closed
    Closing date not given
    Stake bought
    not disclosed

    The company blog is posted January 21, while the embedded release is dated January 15. The transaction uses the embedded announcement date. Consideration, exact operating-company equity percentage and separate close date are not established. US-S005 US-S014

What we don’t know

medium priority · Question US-U001

What equity percentages, transaction consideration and separate legal closing dates apply to the reported platform acquisitions?

Affiliation and reported acquisitions are documented; undisclosed percentages, consideration and legal close dates remain unknown.

What would answer this: Transaction documents, corporate filings, or explicit first-party closing and retained-interest disclosures. · Checked 2026-10-23

low priority · Question US-U002

Can the public release dates be reconciled with the legal transaction dates?

Posting dates and release datelines are preserved in source notes. No posting date is represented as an independently verified close date.

What would answer this: Dated closing documentation or clarifying issuer statement. · Checked 2026-10-23

medium priority · Question US-U003

What was the exact legal close date and how was the collective 30% retained stake divided among existing shareholders?

Completed sponsor transfer documented; February 2026 precision only, with individual retained interests unknown.

What would answer this: Closing documentation or explicit shareholder-level disclosures. · Checked 2026-10-23

Suggest a correction

5 public sources

Open a source for its dates, the connection it supports, and a link to the original.

US-S005Champions Group Expands Texas Footprint with Acquisition of Lex Cooling, Heating, Plumbing & ElectricalChampions Group Holdings · Acquisition announcement

Read the original source

Published
2026-01-21
Checked
2026-10-23
Source quality
Grade A · From a company, buyer, seller, or filing
Publisher group
champions
Source type
transaction announcement

Acquisition of Lex Cooling, Heating, Plumbing & Electrical by Champions Group Holdings; reported local services and market.

The company blog is posted January 21, while the embedded release is dated January 15. The transaction uses the embedded announcement date.

US-S014Champions Group Holdings — Our FamilyChampions Group Holdings · Owner or business-group website

Read the original source

Published
Date not given
Checked
2026-10-23
Source quality
Grade A · From a company, buyer, seller, or filing
Publisher group
champions
Source type
current corporate directory

Current listing of Lex in Richardson, Texas and Bees Plumbing and Heating in Seattle, Washington.

Undated live portfolio directory observed October 23, 2026. Does not establish sponsor transfer closing or individual operating-company equity percentages.

S024Blackstone Announces Agreement to Acquire Champions GroupBlackstone · Acquisition announcement

Read the original source

Published
2026-02-17
Checked
2026-07-26
Source quality
Grade A · From a company, buyer, seller, or filing
Publisher group
blackstone
Source type
pending transaction announcement

Agreement to acquire Champions; expected close in first half of 2026

US-S015HarbourVest Private Investments Fund — March 2026 ReportHarbourVest · Filing or legal document

Read the original source

Published
Date not given
Checked
2026-10-23
Source quality
Grade A · From a company, buyer, seller, or filing
Publisher group
harbourvest
Source type
investor fund report

Completed Champions Group sale from Odyssey to Blackstone BXPE; February 2026 realization; existing shareholders collectively retained 30%.

Report period is March 31, 2026; a distinct publication date is not established. Printed pages 3 and 5 (PDF pages 3 and 5). Exact closing day and allocation of the collective retained stake are not disclosed.

S023Champions Group Acquires Service Wizard of AustinChampions Group Holdings · Acquisition announcement

Read the original source

Published
2022-11-22
Checked
2026-10-26
Source quality
Grade A · From a company, buyer, seller, or filing
Publisher group
champions
Source type
transaction announcement

Service Wizard acquisition

Compare up to 3 businesses

Different names. Same owner?